with thanks to Vance Rewolinski for contributing this story

championship Nebraska School for the Deaf boys’ basketball teams

Nick Peterson was the player
1920- Lost to Kimball County in the state final in Class D

1922- Nick Peterson had 7 points and NSD limited Talmage to 3 free throws
in a 9-3 Class G win

1923- NSD moved up to Class D and won a second straight title, beating
Havelock 18-10 as Nick Peterson had 14 points


Nick Peterson was the coach
1931-For the first one-class event since 1914. NSD, the smallest school
ever to win Class A, beat Crete 17-11 in the finals of the 16-team, one
class meet, Jahnel got 6 points for the Champions.


how many deaf schools would win state basketball championships?

In DeafDigest Sports editor’s years of covering deaf schools
sports (1986 thru 2017), only one school won a championship,
and it was New England Private Schools championship by
Marie Philip School girls (at that time it was the Learning
Center for Deaf). Yet, TLC did not win the ESDAA championship!
Maryland did.

In 1983 Eastern North Carolina won the state championship in
girls basketball – but did not win the Mason-Dixon tournament;
Alabama did.

In 1949 Arkansas won the state boys’ championship in

Yet, Nebraska’s three state championships has topped it all –
and this school no longer exists!