Deafdigest » Collections

Barry’s collections

Collections – It is Barry’s E-Book of his best articles published in many
publications since the early 1960’s. He wrote for DeafDigest, Silent Worker,
Deaf American, NAD Broadcaster, Silent News, The Frat and many others.
Most of these publications are no longer in business! This list is growing
and will be added on a regular basis.

 

Barry’s collections of past articles (with today’s update)
Movie consultants, wasted money – http://deafdigest.com/hiring-a-consultant-in-a-movie-for-nothing/

 

Barry’s selected articles, titles in alphabetical order:

Accommodations cost – http://deafdigest.com/cost-of-accommodation/

Actor, accidental – http://deafdigest.com/victor-galloway-accidental-hollywood-actor/

ADA regulations not enforced – http://deafdigest.com/ada-regulations-not-enforced/

Airport TSA booths – http://deafdigest.com/airport-tsa-booths/

Airport ticket counter – http://deafdigest.com/many-deaf-people-scared-airport-ticket-counter-employee/

Artist – Cadwaller Washburn – http://deafdigest.com/cadwaller-washburn-deaf-drypoint-etcher-war-correspondent/

Artist, deaf wildlife stamps – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-fowl-life-artist-louis-frisino/

Artist, deaf artist fame is mysterious – http://deafdigest.com/famous-deaf-artist-for-nothing/

Artist, Goya, big irony –  http://deafdigest.com/goya-the-irony/

Artist, sand – http://deafdigest.com/world-best-sand-artist/

ASL – http://deafdigest.com/asl-used-wrong-way/

ASL, easier way to learn – http://deafdigest.com/easier-way-to-learn-asl/

ASL interpreter for ASL instructor –http://deafdigest.com/asl-interpreter-for-asl-instructor/

ASL pioneer – Stokoe, Bill – http://deafdigest.com/bill-stokoe-fathere-of-deaf-american-sign-language/

Astronomer – Cannon, Anne Jump – http://deafdigest.com/anne-jump-cannon-deaf-astronomer/

Astronomer, deaf, could have won Nobel – http://deafdigest.com/astronomer-studies-stars-that-turn-on-and-turn-off-lights/

Astronomer, self-taught, Olaf Hassel – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-astronomer-self-taught/

Attorney, deaf – Lowell Myers – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-attorney-lowell-myers/

Auctions without interpreters – http://deafdigest.com/participating-in-auctions-without-interpreters/

Author, mystery novels – http://deafdigest.com/mysterious-deaf-author-of-mystery-novels/

Avoiding the word deaf – http://deafdigest.com/avoiding-the-word-deaf/

Backgammon, top deaf player –http://deafdigest.com/backgammon-top-deaf-player/

Backstabbing, deaf or hearing – http://deafdigest.com/stabbing-by-deaf-or-by-hearing/

Bank branch, deaf manager – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-manager-of-branch-bank-office/

Bank, deaf owned – http://deafdigest.com/bank-deaf-owned/

Bank robber, suspected deaf – http://deafdigest.com/suspected-deaf-bank-robber/

Basic rights of the deaf – http://deafdigest.com/basic-rights-of-the-deaf/

Bell & Edison – http://deafdigest.com/alexander-graham-bell-versus-thomas-edison/

Blacksmith, deaf – http://deafdigest.com/thriving-deaf-blacksmith/

Bus Driving paradox – http://deafdigest.com/the-alabamageorgia-paradox/

Businessman, colorful – Lee Brody – http://deafdigest.com/lee-brody-deaf-entrepreneur/

Businessman & leader – Spears, Anson – http://deafdigest.com/anson-spear-deaf-man-of-many-hats/

Captioner, early movies – Romero, Emerson – http://deafdigest.com/emerson-romero-original-deaf-movie-captioner/

Captions hero – http://deafdigest.com/julius-barnathan-deaf-tv-captions-unsung-hero/

Captions pioneer Malcolm Norwood – http://deafdigest.com/malcolm-norwood-deserves-credit-for-captions/

Car battery and the deaf – http://deafdigest.com/car-battery-and-the-deaf/

Chef, deaf, chopped – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-chef-chopped/

Chef, deaf, government palace – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-chef-government-first-family-palace/

CIA – deaf officer – http://deafdigest.com/cia-officer-deaf/

Civil War, deaf fact or myth – http://deafdigest.com/civil-war-deaf-fact-or-myth/

Civil War and the deaf – http://deafdigest.com/civil-war-and-the-deaf/

Classified ads, Beadell, William – http://deafdigest.com/first-newspaper-classified-ads-created-by-deaf-man/

Clock tower, deaf repairman – http://deafdigest.com/repairing-small-town-clock-tower/

Cocktail, invented by deaf bartender – http://deafdigest.com/popular-drink-invented-by-deaf/

College named after deaf person – Barnard, Frederick – http://deafdigest.com/college-named-after-a-deaf-person/

Comic book big mystery – http://deafdigest.com/henry-comics-big-mystery/

Comic book, deaf-produced – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-comic-book/

Comment, worst about deaf – http://deafdigest.com/worst-comment-about-deaf/

Construction company, deaf owner – http://deafdigest.com/construction-company-deaf-owner/

Contract bridge rules revolutionized by deaf player –http://deafdigest.com/deaf-bridge-player-revolutionized-contract-bridge/

Contradiction – Deaf Father and Hearing Son – http://deafdigest.com/the-booth-contradiction-in-deaf-community/

Corporation CEO & Chairperson – Grove, Andrew, Intel Corp – http://deafdigest.com/andrew-grove-deaf-ceo-intel

Corporation president – Charles Percy – http://deafdigest.com/charles-percy-deaf-fortune-500-ceo/

Cousins, deaf surprise – http://deafdigest.com/surprise-deaf-cousins/

Cowboy-type posse, member of – http://deafdigest.com/lyle-olsen-deaf-member-of-posse/

Criminal Intelligence Analyst, deaf – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-criminal-intelligence-analyst/

Crook, deaf – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-swindler-almost-became-rich/

Customer service representative, face to face – http://deafdigest.com/customer-service-representative-face-to-face/

Dancing with the Stars, a fact – http://deafdigest.com/fact-about-dancing-with-stars/

Deaf Aliens – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-alien-territories/

Deaf bill, fear – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-bill-fear-by-legislators/

Deaf community, redlining – http://deafdigest.com/redlining-a-deaf-community/

Deaf Culture disagreement – Stewart, Larry –http://deafdigest.com/deaf-culture-disagreement-by-larry-stewart/

Deaf diplomat, discrimination – http://deafdigest.com/discrimination-against-deaf-diplomat/

Deaf fighting deaf – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-fighting-deaf/

deaf-friendly factory –http://deafdigest.com/deaf-friendly-factory/

Deaf Hire, strangest – Murray, Bill – http://deafdigest.com/comedian-bill-murray-deaf-hire/

Deaf House by Bernie Brown – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-house/

Deaf, invisible – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-invisible/

Deaf House with warrant – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-house-with-police-warrant/

Deaf Jobs hard to fill – http://deafdigest.com/hard-to-fill-deaf-jobs/

Deaf Monkey comment – http://deafdigest.com/latham-breunig-unfortunate-deaf-monkey-comment/

Deaf organizations, paralyzed – http://deafdigest.com/paralyzed-deaf-organizations/

Deafness, faked – http://deafdigest.com/faked-deafness/

Delegate, deaf, Maryland House of Delegates – http://deafdigest.com/judy-toth-maryland-deaf-delegate/

Dental Association, state president – http://deafdigest.com/george-andree-deaf-dentist-state-dental-assoc-president/

Diplomat, Foreign Service, deaf – http://deafdigest.com/joseph-wiedenmayer-deaf-foreign-service-diplomat/

Dishwasher, deaf genius – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-genius-as-dishwasher/

Doctor, deaf – shock – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-doctor-shock/

Documents cover, deaf design – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-documents-for-hearing-legislato

Dog, fooling his deaf master – http://deafdigest.com/dog-fools-his-master/

Dog walker, decision – http://deafdigest.com/dog-meets-another-dog/

Dummy Hoy, closed his shop – http://deafdigest.com/dummy-hoy-closed-his-shop/

Economist, labor – Schowe, Ben – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-labor-economist-ben-schowe/

Edison’s 400 lightbulbs – http://deafdigest.com/the-edison-400-lightbulbs/

Education, deaf grand slam – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-education-grand-slam/

Employee, new hearing – http://deafdigest.com/new-hearing-employee/

Employee, obnoxious hearing – http://deafdigest.com/obnoxious-hearing-employee-dealing-with-deaf/

Employment barriers – http://deafdigest.com/barriers-in-deaf-employment/

Employment challenges – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-hiring-the-deaf/

Employment diversity – http://deafdigest.com/employment-diversity/

Employment, high for deaf in one past field – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-high-employment-in-past-field/

Engineering helping the deaf – http://deafdigest.com/engineering-marvels-helping-the-deaf/

Eugenicist, anti-deaf – http://deafdigest.com/anti-deaf-eugenicist/

Filmmaker in early years, deaf – http://deafdigest.com/ernest-marshall-famous-deaf-filmmaker/

Fire chief, deaf – Kite, Mark – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-chief-small-town-fire-department/

Fund raising letter sent to deaf person – http://deafdigest.com/mr-and-mrs-deaf/

Gas delivery company, deaf owned – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-owned-gas-delivery-company/

Gestures, hearing people not understand – http://deafdigest.com/hearing-confused-by-gestures/

Girl Scouts, deaf founder – http://deafdigest.com/founder-of-girls-scouts/

Golf country club course deaf superintendent – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-superintendent-country-club-golf-course/

Handcuffed deaf man – http://deafdigest.com/handcuffed-deaf-man/

Hearing aids and medicare – http://deafdigest.com/hearing-aids-and-medicare/

Heavy equipment operator – http://deafdigest.com/heavy-equipment-operator/

Highways, noisy – http://deafdigest.com/living-next-to-noisy-highways/

History, big deaf role – http://deafdigest.com/big-deaf-role-in-history/

Hog farmer, deaf woman – http://deafdigest.com/ruby-rader-deaf-hogs-farmer/

Hotel engineer, deaf – http://deafdigest.com/robby-norton-deaf-hotel-engineer/

Hotel owner, Rome, best hotel in world – http://deafdigest.com/roberto-wirth-deaf-owner-of-rome-hotel/

Ice Cream truck vendor, deaf – http://deafdigest.com/ice-cream-truck-vendor-was-deaf/

India royal family, deaf member – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-member-of-india-royal-family

Insurance executive -Van Nevel, Al – http://deafdigest.com/al-van-nevel-unusual-deaf-insurance-executive/

International incident by deaf – http://deafdigest.com/international-deaf-incident/

Internet pioneer was deaf – http://deafdigest.com/internet-pioneer-was-deaf/

Internet service provider, deaf-owned –  http://deafdigest.com/jamie-clark-deaf-internet-service-provider/

Interpreter, not allowed to do something – http://deafdigest.com/interpreter-not-allowed-to-do-something/

Interpreter, unavailable at sales presentation – http://deafdigest.com/challenged-at-sales-presentation/

Interpreters in rural areas – http://deafdigest.com/interpreters-in-rural-areas/

Interpreters, theatrical objections – http://deafdigest.com/objections-to-theater-interpreters/

Interpreters, small towns – http://deafdigest.com/interpreters-from-small-towns/

Job, dream for deaf – http://deafdigest.com/dream-job-for-deaf/

Job, toughest in India – http://deafdigest.com/toughest-job-in-india/

Job, unusual for Deaf King – http://deafdigest.com/the-deaf-king-alfonso/

Jobs, important, that deaf don’t apply – http://deafdigest.com/many-deaf-dont-apply-for-important-deaf-jobs/

Laura Bridgman, deaf-blind – http://deafdigest.com/laura-bridgman-deaf-blind-woman/

Law – California Free TTY law – http://deafdigest.net/california-free-deaf-tty-bill/

Legislative procedures, strange regarding deaf – http://deafdigest.com/strange-legislative-procedures-in-maryland/

Library fingerprinting – http://deafdigest.com/must-be-fingerprinted-to-read-deaf-publications/

Lifeguard, Colombo, Leroy – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-lifeguard-that-saved-lives-for-40-years/

Make-Up deaf artist in entertainment industry – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-make-up-artist-in-entertainment-world/

Meatpacking break-room talks led to csd – http://deafdigest.com/meatpacking-break-room-talk-led-to-csd/

Medical doctors that are deaf – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-medical-doctors/

Medical researcher – deaf, Sharpless, Nansie – http://deafdigest.com/nansie-sharpless-deaf-medical-researcher/

Medical School instructor, Ballantyne, Donald – http://deafdigest.com/donald-ballantyne-deaf-teacher-of-future-doctors/

Medical school instructor, Robert Simmons – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-instructor-in-medical-school/

Men’s Health Magazine – http://deafdigest.com/mens-health-magazine-omission/

Mental Health psychologist – Brauer, Barbara – http://deafdigest.com/barbara-brauer-deaf-mental-health-pioneer/

Model – Norton, Audree – http://deafdigest.com/audree-norton-deaf-pioneering-tv-model/

Movie consultants, wasted money – http://deafdigest.com/hiring-a-consultant-in-a-movie-for-nothing/

Movies, accents – http://deafdigest.com/accents-in-movies/

Movies, Oscar for deaf – http://deafdigest.com/movies-first-oscar-for-deaf-role/

Music percussionist – Glenne, Evelyn – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-percussionist-music-eve-glennie/

NAD Conference embarrassment – http://deafdigest.com/nad-conference-embarrassment/

National Leadership Training Program at CSUN – http://deafdigest.com/national-leadership-program-at-csun/

National pageant winner – Whitestone, Heather – http://deafdigest.net/controversy-with-a-deaf-winner-of-national-pageant/

Optometrist, deaf – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-optometrist/

Oral school, comparing past histories – http://deafdigest.com/comparing-past-oral-stories/

Patents office, deaf employee role – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-employee-in-patents-helped-win-patent/

Pathologist, Pachiarz, Judith – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-pathologist-judith-pachiarz/

Pepsi, Super Bowl – http://deafdigest.com/pepsi-and-super-bowl/

Photographer, many magazine credits – http://deafdigest.com/michael-pimentel-deaf-sports-photographer/

Physician snap decisions – http://deafdigest.com/these-physician-snap-decisions/

Pigeons, homing – deaf racer – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-racer-homing-pigeons/

Pilot, deaf female pioneer – http://deafdigest.com/nellie-wilhitte-pioneering-deaf-female-pilot/

Plants, named after deaf woman – http://deafdigest.com/plants-named-after-deaf-woman/

Police Officer, deaf, only one to die in line of duty – http://deafdigest.com/only-known-deaf-police-officer-killed-in-line-of-duty/

Portland, interpreter brutality – http://deafdigest.com/interpreter-brutality-in-portland/

Postmaster, deaf – http://deafdigest.com/henry-whitney-deaf-postmaster/

Presidents past links with the deaf – http://deafdigest.com/usa-presidents-link-with-the-deaf/

Printer, state official – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-superintendent-of-kentucky-public-printing/

Prosecutor, federal – Pravda, Doug – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-federal-prosecutor/

Reality-tv-show-deaf-participant – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-survivor-among-tv-reality-series-participants/

Recreation Center, named after deaf person – http://deafdigest.com/recreation-center-named-after-deaf-person/

Relay call hangups – http://deafdigest.com/hung-up-on-six-relay-calls/

Relay operators, switched – http://deafdigest.com/relay-operators-that-switch/

Royal families, deaf members – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-members-of-european-royal-families/

Schools, military training in deaf schools – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-schools-military-training/

Shop talk – http://deafdigest.com/shop-talk-we-hate/

Shoulder tap – http://deafdigest.com/shoulder-tap/

Shoulder tap, almost violent fight – http://deafdigest.com/almost-violent-shoulder-tap/

Sign Language skills levels – http://deafdigest.com/eleven-levels-of-deaf-sign-language-skills/

Smiley inventor – Yasushi, Wakabayashi – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-person-inventing-a-smiley/

Statistician, without computers – http://deafdigest.com/wilson-grabill-leading-deaf-census-statistician/

Steamboat trip, wasted – http://deafdigest.com/wasted-steamboat-trip/

Street, named after non-famous deaf person –http://deafdigest.com/street-named-after-non-famous-deaf-person/

Street performer, deaf –  http://deafdigest.com/street-performer-was-deaf/

Supreme Court and Deaf Education – http://deafdigest.com/supreme-court-and-deaf-education/

Surgeon, deaf in Spain – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-surgeon-in-spain/

Ticket windows, deaf sellers –http://deafdigest.com/deaf-ticket-sellers-at-soccer-stadium/

Titanic – only deaf passenger – http://deafdigest.com/only-deaf-passenger/

Top Secret profession, deaf employee – http://deafdigest.com/top-secret-profession-deaf-employee/

Trading floor, investments, deaf man – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-man-on-investments-trading-floor/

Travel tour, special for deaf – http://deafdigest.com/special-deaf-travel-tour/

Truck driving, advocate, deaf – http://deafdigest.com/william-woods-advocate-of-deaf-truckers/

Turning down big business deal – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-businessman-turns-down-radio-shack-deal/

Turnovers, deaf vs hearing – http://deafdigest.com/turnovers-deaf-vs-hearing/

TV cable company, deaf-owned – http://deafdigest.com/vives-cable-company/

TV longest continuing deaf host – http://deafdigest.com/longest-continuing-deaf-host/

TV open captions –http://deafdigest.com/first-open-captions-on-tv-series/

TV, risk by killing off deaf characters played by deaf actors – http://deafdigest.com/tv-death-of-deaf-characters-played-by-deaf-actors/

University golden eras – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-golden-era-2/

Veterinary student kicked out – http://deafdigest.com/kansas-state-university-kicking-out-deaf-veterinary-student/

World traveler, deaf – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-world-traveler/

World War I – deaf role – http://deafdigest.com/the-deaf-during-first-world-war/

World War I, deaf volunteers – http://deafdigest.com/deaf-world-war-i-volunteers/

Wrong gifts for deaf – http://deafdigest.com/wrong-gifts-for-deaf/

Zoo, deaf owners – http://deafdigest.com/zoo-deaf-owners/

 

Leave a Reply